Support poco.lit. with Steady!

Tags:

Nina Mingya Powles
Small Bodies of Water

In her collection of essays, we move with Powles between London, where she currently lives, Shanghai, China and Aotearoa-New Zealand. She talks about growing up in Wellington with the constant fear of a major earthquake, how she prepares her own tofu during the coronavirus lockdown, and her connection to the kōwhai tree.  

more...

Claire Kohda
Woman, Eating

Woman, Eating by Claire Kohda highlights just how monstrous the human world that the vampire inhabits can truly be. It’s also a food lover’s delight that gives us a peek into the complicated identities that can inhabit individual bodies and how time and history can affect them, but it’s not intimidating.

more...

Bernardine Evaristo
Mr. Loverman

Bernardine Evaristo’s Mr. Loverman is the perfect book for fans of the series Grace and Frankie. It’s the story of an older gay couple in love, a rollercoaster ride of emotions between secrecy and coming out, lightened up by extremely funny characters.

more...

Jessica George
Maame

Jessica George’s debut novel Maame has the air of being the well-behaved little sister to Candice Carty-Williams Queenie. Like Queenie, Maddie, the protagonist, goes through crises and explores her sexuality, but she is – perhaps because of the Christian upbringing in her Ghanaian family home – far less reckless.

more...

Candice Carty-Williams
People Person

With Queenie, Candice Carty-Williams became known for the humour and effortlessness of her tone. She managed to incorporate important issues such as racism and mental health into her novel despite its superficial lightness. People Person, her second novel, is only similar in style and tone.

more...

Natasha Brown
Assembly

As the title of Natasha Brown’s debut novel suggests, it amounts to a coming-together, an assembling. A Black British woman attends a party for an upper-class white family. This celebration in rural England is the culmination of her inner dilemmas: has she made it or are her actions making her an accomplice to the racism she experiences? At this party, she makes up her mind.

more...

Unterstütze poco.lit. über Steady.

Schlagwörter:

Nina Mingya Powles
Small Bodies of Water

In ihrem Essayband bewegen wir uns mit Powles zwischen London, wo sie zur Zeit lebt, Shanghai, China und Aotearoa-Neuseeland. Sie erzählt wie sie in Wellington mit der ständigen Angst vor einem großen Erdbeben aufgewachsen ist, davon, wie sie während des Lockdowns zur Coronazeit eigenen Tofu herstellt und über ihre Verbindung zum Kōwhaibaum.

mehr...

Bernardine Evaristo
Mr. Loverman

Bernardine Evaristos Mr. Loverman ist das perfekte Buch für Fans der Serie Grace und Frankie. Es ist die Geschichte eines älteren schwulen Liebespaars, eine Berg- und Talfahrt der Gefühle zwischen Heimlichtuerei und Coming-Out, aufgelockert durch überaus witzige Figuren.

mehr...

Jessica George
Maame

Jessica Georges Debütroman Maame wirkt wie die brave kleine Schwester von Candice Carty-Williams Queenie. Wie Queenie geht Maddie durch Krisen und probiert sich sexuell aus, aber sie ist – vielleicht wegen der christlichen Erziehung in ihrem ghanaischen Elternhaus – weitaus weniger draufgängerisch.

mehr...

Candice Carty-Williams
People Person

Candice Carty-Williams wurde mit Queenie für ihren humorvollen und mühelosen Ton bekannt. Sie schaffte es trotz der oberflächlichen Leichtigkeit, wichtige Themen wie Rassismus und mentale Gesundheit in ihren Roman einzubinden. Dieses Jahr ist ihr zweiter Roman, People Person, erschienen, der dem ersten nur in Stil und Ton gleicht.

mehr...

Charmaine Wilkerson
Black Cake

Black Cake ist Charmaine Wilkersons bewegender Debütroman, in dem sich zwei entfremdete Geschwister, Byron und Benny, mit dem Tod ihrer Mutter und ihrer verborgenen Vergangenheit auseinandersetzen müssen.

mehr...

Zadie Smith
Swing Time

Was mir an Zadie Smiths Roman Swing Time am besten gefällt, ist die Art und Weise, wie er sich ernsten Problemen mit einer gewissen Leichtigkeit nähert und dennoch ihre Schwere anerkennt: Ein wunderbar trockener Sinn für Humor zieht sich durch den gesamten Roman und bringt die Leser:innen und die Protagonistin immer wieder ein wenig aus dem Gleichgewicht, wenn sie damit konfrontiert werden, dass sich die Dinge nie ganz so entwickeln, wie sie eigentlich sollten.

mehr...

Natasha Brown
Zusammenkunft

Wie der Titel von Natasha Browns Debütroman andeutet, läuft er auf eine Zusammenkunft hinaus. Eine Schwarze britische Frau nimmt an einer Feier einer weißen Oberschichtsfamilie teil. Dieses Fest im ländlichen England ist die Kulmination ihrer inneren Zwiespälte: Hat sie es geschafft oder macht sie sich mit ihrem Verhalten zur Komplizin des Rassismus, den sie erfährt? Bei diesem Fest entscheidet sie sich.

mehr...