Download the macht.sprache. extension for Google Translate

and integrate sensitivity into your translations with no extra effort!

poco.lit.

4 Books about Language, Race and Gender

As part of our macht.sprache. project, we dealt in depth with concepts related to race and gender. For this, it was necessary to understand how linguistic discrimination works and that it is part of discriminatory social structures. Here we present 4 books (3 written in German, 1 in English) that have shaped our thinking about concepts and terminologies around race and gender.

more...

The macht.sprache. extension is here!

Since the beginning of 2021, we here at poco.lit. have been working on the macht.sprache. project with Kolja Lange and Timur Celikel. The project aims to foster politically sensitive translation. Our new browser extension will help achieve this goal.

more...

Commissioned texts on German colonialism

In addition to our work as editors of poco.lit., we offer a number of services in related fields, predominantly but not exclusively concerned with postcolonial topics. Recently, a number of magazines have been published to which we contributed: three booklets on Berlin’s colonial entanglements and a magazine on German colonialism in China.

more...

Disability and/in translation: The right to self-describe

In cooperation with the Goethe-Institutes in North-Western Europe, poco.lit. hosted an online discussion about disability and/in translation. Khairani Barokka and Amy Zayed shared valuable insights. This is an overview of the discussion spanning particular terms in relation to disability, pragmatic suggestions for translators and the connection between disability justice and anti-colonialism.

more...

Sign up for the poco.lit.-Newsletter

We’re happy to announce the poco.lit. newsletter! If you choose to opt-in, you will receive updates from us once a month. We’ll let you know about developments in our current projects and give an overview of the content we’ve posted in the past four weeks.

more...

Signup for poco.lit.’s Newsletter

We’re happy to announce the poco.lit. newsletter! If you choose to opt-in, you will receive updates from us once a month. We’ll let you know about developments in our current projects and give an overview of the content we’ve posted in the past four weeks.

more...

Lade die macht.sprache. Browser Erweiterung für Google Translate herunter.

So kannst du ohne viel Aufwand sensibler übersetzen.

poco.lit.

4 Bücher über Sprache, Race und Gender

Im Rahmen unseres Projekts macht.sprache. setzten wir uns u.a. intensiv mit Begrifflichkeiten in Bezug auf Race und Gender auseinander. Dafür war es nötig, zu verstehen, wie sprachliche Diskriminierung funktioniert und dass sie ein Teil von diskriminierenden Gesellschaftsstrukturen ist. Hier stellen wir 4 Bücher vor (3 deutschsprachige, 1 englischsprachiges), die unser Denken über Konzepte und Begrifflichkeiten rund um Race und Gender geformt haben.

mehr...

Die macht.sprache. Browsererweiterung ist da!

Seit Anfang 2021 arbeiten wir von poco.lit. zusammen mit Kolja Lange und Timur Celikel an dem Projekt macht.sprache. Ziel ist es, politisch sensibles Übersetzen zu fördern. Dafür gibt es jetzt eine Browsererweiterung für Google Translate.

mehr...

Auftragstexte zu deutschem Kolonialismus

Neben der redaktionellen Arbeit für poco.lit. sind wir freiberuflich tätig und arbeiten mit Text und Sprache – am liebsten mit Bezug auf das postkoloniale Themenspektrum, aber nicht ausschließlich. Kürzlich sind einige Broschüren erschienen, an denen wir mitgearbeitet haben: drei Hefte zu den kolonialen Verstrickungen Berlins und ein Beitrag in einer Zeitschrift über den deutschen Kolonialismus in China.

mehr...

Behinderung und Übersetzung: Über das Recht auf Selbstbezeichnung

In Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut veranstaltete poco.lit. vor Kurzem eine Online-Diskussion mit Khairani Barokka und Amy Zayed über Behinderung und Übersetzung. Es ging um konkrete Begrifflichkeiten im Zusammenhang mit Behinderung, praktische Hinweise für Übersetzer:innen und die Verbindungen zwischen Gerechtigkeit für Menschen mit Behinderung und Antikolonialismus.

mehr...

Zum poco.lit.-Newsletter anmelden

Wir freuen uns sehr, heute den poco.lit. Newsletter ankündigen zu können. Wenn ihr euch anmeldet, erhaltet ihr einmal im Monat eine Email von uns mit allen Neuigkeiten. Wir informieren euch über unsere Projekte und geben einen Überblick über die Inhalte der letzten vier Wochen.

mehr...